Adding Agents to Groups

After an agent is installed and reports to the Security Server, the server adds it to a group.

  • Security Agents installed on server platforms are added to the Servers (default) group.

  • Security Agents installed on desktop platforms are added to the Desktops (default) group.

    Note:

    You can assign Security Agents to other groups by moving them. For details, see Moving Agents.

  • Each Messaging Security Agent (Advanced only) is its own group. It is not possible to organize several Messaging Security Agents into one group.

If the number of agents reflected on the Security Groups Tree is incorrect, it is possible that agents may have been removed without the server being notified (for example, if client-server communication was lost while removing the agent). This causes the server to retain agent information in its database and show the agent as offline on the web console. When you reinstall the agent, the server creates a new record in the database and treats the agent as new, causing duplicate agents to appear on the Security Groups Tree. To check for duplicate agent records, use the Agent Connection Verification feature in Administration > Global Settings > System.

Installing Messaging Security Agents (Advanced only)

See the following topics: