A Service-Level Agreement (SLA) is a contract between a service provider and its customers.

The monitoring of SLA links measures the health of links that are connected to SD-WAN member interfaces by sending probing packets through each WAN interface to a server and by measuring the link quality based on latency, jitter, and packet loss. If a link is broken, the SLA will detect this event and notify the Cloud Edge gateway to reroute traffic to an alternative link. When the link is working again, the Cloud Edge gateway will recover the link and route the traffic on the available links again. This prevents the traffic from being sent to a broken link and thus causing a traffic break.

Cloud Edge recommends four types of SLAs:

  • VoIP-Video
  • Audio-Streaming
  • General Web
  • Office 365
Note: On the bottom of the Manage SLAs page, there are four recommended SLAs. The example descriptions will be displayed when you mouse over them.

The maximum number of SLAs supported by Cloud Edge is 50.