Other Directory Tasks

You can also perform the following actions:

Table 1. Other Directory Tasks

Action

Description

Add groups

Add groups to better organize appliances, such as by location or business unit.

To add a group:

  1. Click the menu icon beside the group name and then select Add.

  2. In the text box, type a name with a maximum of 256 characters.

Edit group or appliance names

To edit a group or appliance name:

  1. Click the menu icon beside the group or appliance name and then select Edit.

  2. In the text box, type a name with a maximum of 256 characters.

Edit appliance repository server assignments

To edit the repository server assignments of an appliance:

  1. Click the menu icon beside the appliance name and then select Edit.

  2. Modify the repository server assignments using the drop-down lists.

Move groups or appliances

To move a group or an appliance to a different group:

  1. Click the menu icon beside the group or appliance name and then select Move.

  2. In the window, select the new folder and then click Move.

This function is disabled whenever:

  • Deployment of one or more associated plans is pending or in progress.

  • The appliance tree is filtered by a specific Deep Discovery appliance. To enable the function, change the view to All.

Delete groups

Delete empty or unused groups to simplify the Directory.

To delete a group, click the menu icon beside the group name and then select Delete.

Warning:

Deleting a group cancels the plans associated with that group, moves appliances to the Unmanaged group, and unregisters repository servers from Deep Discovery Director. Only groups without unfinished plans can be deleted.

This function is disabled whenever:

  • Deployment of one or more associated plans is pending or in progress.

  • The appliance tree is filtered by a specific Deep Discovery appliance. To enable the function, change the view to All.

Delete appliances

To delete an appliance, click the menu icon beside the display name and then select Delete.

This function is disabled whenever the appliance tree is filtered by a specific Deep Discovery appliance. To enable the function, change the view to All.

Warning:

Deleting an appliance unregisters it from Deep Discovery Director, stops all connections, and cancels all associated plans.

Switch views

To switch between custom views, click on the name beside Views and then select the view to switch to.

Customize columns

Customize columns and save new custom views to better organize all the information.

To create a custom view:

  1. Click on the name beside Views and then select Customize columns.

  2. Type a unique custom view name.

  3. Select any combination of columns to include in the custom view.

  4. Click Save.

Tip:

The column order can be rearranged using drag-and-drop.

Edit custom views

To edit a custom view:

  1. Click on the name beside Views and then select the pencil icon beside the view.

  2. (Optional) Edit the custom view name.

  3. Edit the combination of columns.

  4. Click Save.

Delete custom views

To delete a custom view, click on the name beside Views and then select the trash can icon beside the view.