Restoring a Configuration Settings and Database Backup

A configuration settings and database backup can be used to restore Deep Discovery Director to a previous point in time.

If the active Deep Discovery Director is unresponsive or cannot be restored, a configuration settings and database backup can also be used on another server to restore operation and minimize downtime.

For details, see Replacing the Active Server with Another Server.

  1. Go to Administration > System Maintenance > Restore.

    The Restore screen appears.

  2. Click Select File... and select the backup file.
  3. Click Upload.

    The backup file is uploaded, and Deep Discovery Director displays information about the backup file.

  4. Click Restore.

    Deep Discovery Director displays a confirmation message.

  5. Click OK.

    Deep Discovery Director restores configuration settings and database from the backup file, and then restarts the server.

  6. (Optional) Restore the repository.
    • Consolidated mode: Re-upload all previously uploaded update, upgrade, and Virtual Analyzer image files to the repository.

      Important:

      Update, upgrade, and Virtual Analyzer image files are not included in the backup file and are not restored automatically. Appliances cannot download and execute plans if the files are not re-uploaded to the repository.

    • Distributed mode: The Management Server automatically receives the list of available update, upgrade, and Virtual Analyzer image files from the Central Repository server.

  7. (Optional) Configure the network addresses. For details, see Network.
  8. (Optional) Activate Deep Discovery Director. For details, see License.

    The server is now ready to resume operation.