Restoring a Configuration Settings and Database Backup

A configuration settings and database backup can be used to restore Deep Discovery Director (Consolidated Mode) to a previous point in time.

If the active Deep Discovery Director (Consolidated Mode) is unresponsive or cannot be restored, a configuration settings and database backup can also be used on another server to restore operation and minimize downtime.

For details, see Replacing the Active Server with Another Server.

  1. Go to Administration > System Maintenance > Restore.

    The Restore screen appears.

  2. Click Select File... and select the backup file.
  3. Click Upload.

    The backup file is uploaded, and Deep Discovery Director (Consolidated Mode) displays information about the backup file.

  4. Click Restore.

    Deep Discovery Director (Consolidated Mode) displays a confirmation message.

  5. Click OK.

    Deep Discovery Director (Consolidated Mode) restores configuration settings and database from the backup file, and then restarts the server.

  6. (Optional) Restore the repository by re-uploading all previously uploaded update, upgrade, and Virtual Analyzer image files to the repository.
    Important:

    Update, upgrade, and Virtual Analyzer image files are not included in the backup file and are not restored automatically. Appliances cannot download and execute plans if the files are not re-uploaded to the repository.

  7. (Optional) Configure the network addresses. For details, see Network.
  8. (Optional) Activate Deep Discovery Director (Consolidated Mode). For details, see License.

    The server is now ready to resume operation.