Manage Disks Options

The options displayed in the Manage Disks screen change depending on the status of the disks attached to the device.

Option

Description

Encrypt

Encrypt new unencrypted disks

This is the only option available if the Recovery Console is accessed from Windows. The system disk is selected by default.

For details, see Encrypt Disks.

Decrypt All

Decrypt the system disk and all data disks attached to the endpoint

Decrypt this Disk

Decrypt the selected disk

For details, see Using Decrypt Disk in Preboot.

Stop

Stop the decryption process

Detach Disk

Exclude the disk from being managed by Full Disk Encryption

This option is available only for data disks which have completed decryption. After detaching the disk, Full Disk Encryption identifies the disk as a new disk and excludes it from all policies. To manage the disk again, use Full Disk Encryption to re-encrypt the disk.

Restore Boot Partition

Roll back the MBR to a state before Full Disk Encryption installation

This option is available only for system disks which have completed decryption. To enable this option, detach all data disks from the endpoint.

For details, see Restore Boot.

Unlock SED

Remove the preboot from an SED system disk

This option is available only for SED system disks which have completed decryption. To enable this option, detach all data disks from the endpoint.