Add or Edit Rule Screen

Start adding or editing a rule to do the following tasks:

Task

Steps

Name rule.

Under Name, type a name.

Tip:

Leave this field blank to allow Endpoint Application Control to name the rule based on its configuration.

Test rule without affecting application starts or access.

Under Log-only mode, select Enabled.

If enabled, application access or start that trigger this rule will be logged in the policy action log with no action will be applied.

Match applications to rule.

Expand the section corresponding to the type of rule you are building. For example:

  • Expand Allowed applications if you are building an allow rule.

  • Expand Blocked applications if you are building a block rule.

  • Expand Applications excluded from lockdown if you are building a lockdown rule.

Then, under Match using, select one of the following methods:

Note:

A rule can only match applications by using one Match using method at a time. Endpoint Application Control only saves settings for the method last selected before you click Save.

Resolve conflicts

Important:

This setting is only available for Block rules.

By default, files or applications selected for blocking will be allowed if they are required by two or more applications. To block these files or applications, select Block this file or Block applications that use this file using the drop-down list from the Conflict Resolution column.

Change Trusted Source settings.

Important:

This setting is only configurable for Allow rules. See About Trusted Sources.

Configure settings to grant additional rights to applications allowed by this rule. For example, allow the application to open other applications.

Expand Rule options and then, under Trusted Source, select a trust level. The default setting is None.

Trust ends after the rule is removed or the trust level of None is selected.

Add description.

Expand Rule options and then, under Specify metadata, type a description.

Only the root account can do the following tasks:

Table 1. Root Account Tasks

Task

Steps

Lock rule.

To prevent rule editing or deletion, the root account can lock rules created on their server.

Expand Rule options and then, under Prevent Editing, click Lock rule.

Unlock rule.

To allow editing or deletion, the root account can unlock rules created on their server.

After you open a rule for editing, if the rule is locked, a Rule modification is locked notification appears at the top of the screen.

In the notification, click Enable Editing.

See About Account Roles.