Unregistering a Child Server

The action to register or unregister child servers does not generate the same result as to enable or disable child servers. Unregistering a child server permanently cuts the parent and child server connection. Disabling a child server temporarily suspends the connection and maintains the heartbeat connection between the parent and child servers.

When you want to balance the server load between servers a and b, these are the common scenarios:

  • Parent server A is managing more child servers than parent server B

  • Parent server A becomes overloaded and you want to reduce the load and transfer some child servers to parent server B

Use the Parent Control Manager Settings screen to unregister a child server from a parent server.

  1. Navigate to Administration > Settings > Parent Control Manager Settings.

    The Parent Control Manager Settings screen appears.

  2. Click Unregister at the bottom of the screen.