Risky or Dangerous Network Connection

What caused this warning?

You have tried to connect with a network that could pose a threat to your security. Your security software will identify these networks as either risky or dangerous.

Network Rating

Description

Risky

"Open" networks do not require authentication to connect with them, so anyone can use them. With this greater ease of access comes a higher chance that strangers could try to snoop on what you send and receive through these networks. You should try not to use risky networks if possible.

Dangerous

When you connect to a network, your computer will normally contact an authentication server. This server should have a reliable security certificate to help ensure that nobody else intercepts the data that you send and receive through the network. If the authentication server has an expired, fake, or otherwise untrustworthy security certificate, then your connection could be hijacked or monitored without your knowledge. For your own safety, you should avoid networks identified as dangerous.

What to do now

Try to connect with a more trustworthy network instead of the one that triggered the warning.

If you still want or need to use a risky or dangerous network, you can click the Trust this network despite the risk or Trust this network despite the danger link under the OK button. Clicking the link adds the network to an exception list, so that you will no longer receive warnings about it.

You can also remove the network from the exception list if you change your mind about it later.