Social Networking Protection

Tip:

How to find this tool:

Main Console > Privacy > Social Networking Protection

Social Networking Protection keeps you safe from security risks when visiting these social networking sites:

Social Networking Protection ratings

The page rating icon changes color to indicate risk. The list below shows all the ratings that might appear:

Icon

Status

Description

Safe

Trend Micro considers this page safe. It does not pose a risk to your security.

Suspicious

Trend Micro has found that this page could pose a security risk. Avoid the site if possible, or exercise caution if you do open it.

Dangerous

Trend Micro has identified this page as dangerous. It may contain hidden malicious software, or shows signs of involvement in "phishing," a kind of fraud in which fake websites mimic legitimate ones to steal information.

Blocked

You have decided to block this page.

Trusted

You have decided to trust this page, but Trend Micro has not confirmed this rating.

Untested

Trend Micro has not yet tested this page. It may use an unsupported protocol (something other than HTTP or HTTPS).

No Response

Unable to contact the page rating system. Check your Internet connection and proxy server settings.

Note:

Moving your mouse cursor over the page rating icon displays more information about the rating.

Use Social Networking Protection

When you open a supported website, Trend Micro will automatically rate the links shown there. Feel free to open  Safe pages. You should avoid opening sites marked as Suspicious or Dangerous. Unsafe pages that you have added to the exception list will have the Trusted rating.

Warn friends about unsafe links

If your security software finds a dangerous link on your Facebook wall, for example, you can warn your friends about it. Just move your mouse cursor over the warning and click Warn your friends about this post. You can modify the message that appears, or just post it as-is.